Q: What are the Sustainable Business Awards?

A: The SBAs aim to increase awareness of sustainable business best-practices and demonstrate how sustainable business benefits companies, the environment and all stakeholders, today and for the future.

Q: How many category winners are there in the Sustainable Business Awards?

A: There are 12 categories and 1 - 2 special categories.

Q: What are the categories?

A: There are awards for 12 categories and 2 special awards. The 12 categories are:

  1. Strategy and sustainability management
  2. Workforce
  3. Community
  4. Energy management
  5. Water management
  6. Waste and material productivity
  7. Climate Change
  8. Supply Chain Management
  9. Land Use, Biodiversity and Environment
  10. Business Responsibility and Ethics
  11. Stakeholder Engagement and Materiality
  12. UN Sustainable Development Goals

The 2 special awards are:

  1. (Environmental Disclosure - specific to certain countries only)
  2. Overall winner

Q: How long have the Sustainable Business Awards been in existence?

A: The SBA was founded in 2012.

Q: What is the judging process?

A: Finalists will be selected from among all entries based on scores of the completed questionnaires and its supporting data, and then we present the winners to the advisory panel to give input on the final winners. Please check the Awards process here http://sustainablebusinessawards.com/about/

Q: Who makes up the national advisory panels for the awards?

A: The SBA national advisory panels comprise sustainability experts and leaders from different stakeholder groups such as the government, academia and NGOs, who are very familiar with the national business landscape.

Q: What do winners receive?

A: The winners will receive trophies and all entrants will receive certificates.

Q: Where can I find a list of past winners of SBA?

A: Please check http://sustainablebusinessawards.com/winners/

Q: What are the benefits of participating in the SBAs?

A: Participating in the SBAs helps companies identify gaps and opportunities in their sustainability journey. It also provides a benchmark against peers in the country.

Q: What sort of publicity can SBA winners expect to receive?

A: The awards ceremonies will be broadcast nationwide. The Awards' public relations agency will also work to generate national, regional, and local exposure for SBA winners.

Q: Who can be nominated or submit entries?

A: Any registered companies in Singapore or Indonesia.

Q: When is the submission deadline?

A: For Singapore, the deadline to complete and return the SBA self-assessment questionnaire: 15th June 2017.

A: For Indonesia, the deadline to complete and return the SBA self-assessment questionnaire: 15th June 2017.

Q: Are there entry fees?

A: No. Entering the awards is free.

Q: Who sponsor the events?

A: Depending on the country and location, the venues hosting the award ceremony can sponsor the gala dinner to highlight their commitments to sustainability.

The companies who win the awards are also required to attend the inauguration and to purchase a table (of 8 people including dinner) as support for the award ceremony organisation.

Q: Are entry forms kept confidential?

A: Yes. The organisers ensure that only authorized team and panel will review entries, and that information about nominees is not released to anyone else without prior approval

Q: When will the awards ceremony take place?

A: For Singapore, the awards presentation will be held over a gala dinner at a prominent location in Singapore in July 2017.

A: For Indonesia, the awards presentation will be held over a gala dinner at a prominent location in Indonesia in September 2017.

Q: What will it cost to attend the awards dinner?

A: To attend the awards inauguration, winning companies are required to book a table in advance for the cost listed below:

Singapore: SGD 2675/table for 8 people.

Indonesia: USD 2200/table for 8 people